Health & Happiness.

This week I did something that I never thought I would actually do, I only went and joined the bloody gym!

fc2a9607d32b3cbd6bdee811e662aa81So, I’m all for self love etc etc. this is of course extremely important especially in a society where you are expected to fit into certain boxes to be deemed attractive, and I can not stress enough that this whole expectation has not had even the slightest influence on my decision to work out.

As someone who has spent the majority of their life wanting to cry every time I looked in the mirror, someone who was rejected by boys I liked on the basis that I was ‘too ugly’, someone who was bullied throughout what feels like my entire school life, I have always had the strongest feelings of hatred towards my body, as I’m sure many of you have. These feelings have been conjured up by the media and what they portray as ‘beauty’ and only recently have I done a complete one eighty and have embraced my body’s rebellion against society’s expectations.

In the last year or so, I feel like I have reached my ‘final form’ so to speak and I’ve developed a way of dressing that suits my body type, fits into my style and allows me to feel comfortable at any occasion. Corr I sounded like an advertisement for some shaping underwear just then….Anyway, I have learnt to appreciate my curves and learn how to emphasize them in all the right ways. So, why have I joined the gym?

I have joined the gym for a few different reasons, the first one being the most obvious; health. The women in my family who I seem to take after physique-wise, were all quite barrel-like and many of them have experienced health problems due to this. On top of this, I have scoliosis which has been known to worsen when a person gains a significant amount of weight, also I’m just generally REALLY unfit and would like to walk up three flights of stairs without feeling like all the oxygen has been removed from the world.

The second reason I have started working out is for my own happiness. So, I am aware that I will always be a curvy lady and I’m completely, 100% okay with that however, I would really love it if certain parts of my body could be slightly less jelly-like and more toned. I have a huge butt, seriously, and I am actually quite happy with that but it wobbles just a tad too much for my liking.

The third and final reason is for my mental health. Joining the gym has given me an extra hobby and something to do when I’m bored; luckily the gym is just down the road from me and is open 24/7 so I can pop along whenever I fancy. Once I have completed a gym session there is a feeling of achievement and my mind is often a lot more refreshed and clearer. I can not stress enough how great it is for everyone to partake in activities that work towards an end goal, it can be the boost that everyone needs.

Most gyms will offer day passeswhich is what I did as a taster, so if you fancy giving it a go I can not recommend it enough. I often find it hard to get motivated to exercise but I have found that going with a friend can really spur me on and make the whole experience more relaxed and a right giggle.

I’m looking for new routines so let me know if you have any, I would love a bit of variety! Maybe I will also update you all on my progress.

B.Viper

One thought on “Health & Happiness.”

Leave a Reply

