Inside Out; My Thoughts & Theories

Do you ever get that feeling after you’ve watched, read, seen or even heard something and you just want to talk to everyone about it instantly? I really want this blog to be a space where I can express myself and discuss anything that may be of interest to me, and although this post may seem off topic, it touches on a few things that I am currently dealing with so I’m going to take the plunge.

Yesterday I saw an advert for Disney Pixar‘s film, Inside Out, and told my boyfriend that it has been on my ‘to watch’ list for a while. I had heard great things about it so, last night we sat down together and watched this animated, children’s film. It’s generally unlike me to actively watch an animation, especially when it’s target audience is about ten years younger than me, but there was just something about this film that caught my attention.

Riley is an eleven year old girl and she is also our main character. Her life is turned upside down when her parents decide to pack up and move away. Riley has to leave behind her friends, her school, her beloved hockey team and is expected to start from
scratch. Inside Out is ariley-sass-inside-out creative twist on how the mind works and we see that inside the character’s brains there are human-like creatures representing each emotion. There’s Joy, Sadness, Anger, Fear and Disgust and they each control how Riley is feeling. It turns out that everyone’s brains work in the same way; all controlled by these beings that represent different emotions.

Throughout the film we witness how different emotions affect our memories and we are very cleverly shown how the absence of certain emotions can alter our behaviours. As an audience, we begin to notice that a lot of the situations that occur in Riley’s mind are due to the simple fact that she is growing up and surprisingly, this was tough to watch. Personally, I associated the way that Riley was feeling with my own mental health; when she began to feel that particular emotions were no longer present in her day to day life, I related to that feeling. This is often how I can feel when I’m having a bad day with my mental health, whether that’s anxiety, depression or just generally feeling shitty: Sometimes I feel like my own personal ‘Joy’ will never return! It may not have been the creators’ aim to touch upon mental health, but I think everyone can interpret this film in their own way and this is what I took away from it.

bgrpj

Overall, Inside Out made me extremely thoughtful and resulted in reviewing how I deal with my own emotions. It is such a clever film that had us on the edge of our seats; it was engaging, intriguing and just a brilliant watch. I would highly recommend it to everyone.

xXx

4 thoughts on “Inside Out; My Thoughts & Theories”

  1. Totally agree…I also felt that I could relate in the same way with my mental health and days when I wonder if my joy island will ever be rebuilt and also how my 12 year old sons brain is changing. I found it really emotional ( as I do most things😮) such a clever, thought provoking film that can be interpreted in sooo many ways xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading! I’m glad that someone else interpreted it the same way that I did and don’t worry, you were certainly not the only person to feel emotional watching this film! Haha! I’m so glad I took the time out to watch it! Also, you are the first person to comment on my blog, so thank you! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

