Review: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

**This review is spoiler free**

Slasher Boys & Monster Girls is an anthology of horror and thriller stories written mainly by young adult authors. Each tale has a little note at the end telling the reader where the author found inspiration; these inspirations are usually films, classic novels or songs and are cleverly recognisable without being too similar. When I first heard about this book I just new that I had to read it and I was lucky enough to receive a copy for Christmas.

19364719

The stories are selected by author April Genevieve Tuckolke who also has one of her own stories featured in the book; she suggests that the anthology is ‘For everyone who read Stephen King when they were way too young.’ Well that’s me then!

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys is the first book I have read in 2017 and I bloody loved it! I’m hoping that this is a good sign as to how my reading will go this year and that some more amazing novels will come my way.

What can I say about this book? Well, it’s certainly not for the faint hearted. Each story is as creepy as the one before and some of them are even pretty gory. As a strange individual who loves a bit of blood and guts, personally I loved the more gruesome parts, even though they did make me cringe. I am a firm believer that a horror should make you cringe or at least scare you. This book contains murder, amputation, the undead, The Devil, and tons more to keep you up at night.

One of my favourite stories was The Dark, Scary Parts And All by Danielle Paige who is also the author of the Dorothy Must Die series. This tale was inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and the 1976 film The Omen. The main character in this story is Marnie who loves to read, is seen as a bit nerdy and gets severely bullied by a girl called Everly and her band of loyal followers. I genuinely felt like I could relate to Marnie so much as her time at school was extremely similar to my own. One day, the most popular boy in school, Damien, notices Marnie and every thing begins to change however, something doesn’t seem quite right. Unexplainable things begin to happen around Marnie and she begins to wonder whether it has anything to do with her mother’s suicide or her new friendship with Damien. If black magic, devil worship and a teeny bit of romance is your kind of thing, then you’ll love The Dark, Scary Parts And All.

Sleepless by Jay Kristoff was another incredible story. Kristoff ‘does not believe in happy endings’ and this most definitely shows in Sleepless. With more twists than I can count, I was gripped all the way through. A whirlwind online romance between wolfboy_97 and 2muchc0ff33_grrl quickly goes wrong when they finally meet. When it’s time for ‘coffee girl’ to meet the parents, it throws a real spanner in the works and she quickly finds herself in a catfish situation in the least predictable way. This story is inspired by the 1960 film Psycho and Mudvayne’sNothing to Gein“. Sleepless is bound to keep you on the edge of your seat and re-thinking your internet friendships.

That’s just an insight to a couple of the amazing tales in this anthology. I seriously suggest this to any reader who loves horror and wants an easy yet exciting read. This is the first time in a while that I have read short stories and I really enjoyed the variety and it’s always a bonus to discover new authors to explore.

If you decide to read this book I would love to hear your thoughts & remember…..

READING IS COOL! 

 

Leave a Reply

