Vintage Vamps Unite

I am a horror obsessed ghoul, I always have been ever since I can remember. I am also vintage mad, anything that allows me to escape the modern day is welcome in my world. I always thought about crossing the two things over but, as they are both seen to be quite quirky interests I wasn’t sure how to go about it. However, I have finally clawed my way out of the coffin and have embraced a lifestyle that combines my mad love of all things horror related and vintage obsession!

When I first discovered my love for vintage I was mainly intrigued by the 60’s and the 70’s, I took on the style of a traditional Skinhead/Suedehead girl, dressing in a way that slotted right into the late 60’s, early 70’s. Now some of you might be thinking ‘what the bloody hell is a skinhead or suedehead?!’, and this is something that I will address in the near future; for the purpose of this post I will insert some old pictures of myself here:

 

So there it all began. My passion for all things vintage stemmed from my wonderful parents who introduced me to the subcultures that they knew and loved such as; Mod, Skinhead, Suedehead, Rockabilly. Being one of those quirky folk, I was drawn in like a moth to a flame. My parents always warned me ‘Don’t get into it otherwise you’ll never get out again.’; that was nearly eight years ago and they could not have been more correct.

After visiting the 60’s and 70’s, I spent a bit of time in the modern day, shock I know! Although I was wearing high street clothing, I never succumbed to the ‘normal’ fashions, I ensured that I always had a twist on my style. Whilst I was in the modern day, I charged up my time machine and it has now transported me to the 1950’s and I’ve really made myself at home. Okay, so I might not particularly stick to a style that is 50’s through and through however, most of my style inspiration is derived from that era.

It was strange how I noticed that The 50’s/Rockabilly look went hand in hand with so many things, it seemed to crossover with a number of different styles; there’s the Hardcore Punk scene, Psychobilly, Latino Cholas and so much more; each of these styles takes influences from 50’s fashion. Naturally I was in awe when I stumbled across a whole online presence of vampish, vintage enthusiasts. These Vamps are embracing that vintage, horror crossover; this crossover seems to be heavily influenced by people such as Elvira, Morticia Addams, Lily Munster and Vampira. These Queens of Darkness pull off the vampire-esque look with elegance, beauty and pure sass, whilst maintaining that 50’s Hollywood glamour.

15800142_10206110205434623_8300997418928237612_o
Artwork by Andrew Tarusov

For the first time in what seems like forever, I am beginning to feel comfortable in my own skin. I am able to express myself through my style and lifestyle. I can attend different events without feeling the need to mould myself to my surroundings; I can finally just be me. It sounds cliché I know, but it has taken me a long time feel confident and happy about who I am; don’t get me wrong, I’m not completely there yet and there’s still some work to do however, it feels great to have made a start!

One of the benefits is that for a girl of a curvier physique, like myself, the 50’s style is rather complimentary and can make me feel attractive and glamorous whereas modern styles can often make me feel like a condom stuffed with potatoes.

Thanks for reading & if you want to keep up to date with posts there’s a link on the right to follow this blog.

xXx

Leave a Reply

